Test & Treat in the State of Florida
Q: What is the Test and Treat certificate program?
The purpose of this Test and Treat certificate training program is to prepare the pharmacist to test or screen for and treat minor, nonchronic health conditions within the framework of an established written protocol with a supervising physician in accordance with Florida Law.
This program will prepare the pharmacist to provide point-of-care testing and diagnostic services for minor, nonchronic health conditions that can be managed with minimal treatment or self-care. Pharmacists will gain the skills necessary to perform patient assessments and identify appropriate testing and diagnostic procedures to treat the following minor, nonchronic health conditions:
- Skin conditions, such as ringworm and athlete’s foot
- Minor, uncomplicated infections
- Visit our website for more information on the Test and Treat Certificate Program.
- The rules relating to the Test and Treat Certification can be found on the Florida Board of Pharmacy website.
- Visit Online Sunshine for the 2021 Florida Statues outlining Rule 465.1895 testing or screening for treatment of minor, nonchronic health conditions.
Q: How does the State of Florida define testing and screening?
- A pharmacist may test or screen for and treat minor, nonchronic health conditions within the framework of an established written protocol with a supervising physician licensed under chapter 458 or chapter 459. For purposes of this section, a minor, nonchronic health condition is typically a short-term condition that is generally managed with minimal treatment or self-care.
- To learn more, visit Online Sunshine to view the 2020 Florida Statutes.
Q: What is a minor, nonchronic health condition?
A minor, nonchronic health condition is typically a short-term condition that is generally managed with minimal treatment or self-care.
Q: What minor, nonchronic health conditions can a licensed Florida pharmacists test or screen under Section 465.1865 of the Florida Statutes?
- Skin conditions, such as ringworm and athlete’s foot
- Minor, uncomplicated infections
This list is subject to change; please check Section 465.1865 of the Florida Statutes for the latest updates.
Q: Does this program meet the requirements for licensed Florida pharmacists to Test or Screen outlined in Section 465.1865 of the Florida Statutes?
- Yes. The Florida Board approves this program of Pharmacy in consultation with the Board of Medicine and the Board of Osteopathic Medicine. It meets the requirements outlined in Section 465.1865 of the Florida Statutes, specific to testing or screening for and treatment of minor, nonchronic health conditions.
Q: What requirements must a pharmacist meet to test and screen for minor, nonchronic health conditions in the State of Florida?
Per the 2021 Florida Statutes, Rule 465.1895, a pharmacist who tests or screens for and treats minor, nonchronic health conditions under this section must:
- Hold an active and unencumbered license to practice pharmacy in this state.
- Have completed an initial 20-hour course approved by the board, in consultation with the Board of Medicine and Board of Osteopathic Medicine.
- Maintain at least $250,000 of professional liability insurance coverage. However, a pharmacist who maintains professional liability insurance coverage pursuant to s. 465.1865 satisfies this requirement.
- Have established a system to maintain records of all patients receiving services within the framework of a written protocol for a period of 5 years from each patient’s most recent provision of service.
For more information, visit the Florida Board of Pharmacy as requirements and revisions may occur; please check the Florida Board of Pharmacy for the latest updates – Pharmacist Test and Treat Certification.
Q: May a pharmacist who holds a Test and Treat Certification in the State of Florida enter into a written protocol in any pharmacy location?
A pharmacist acting under a written protocol may not:
- Enter into a written protocol while acting as an employee without the written approval of the owner of the pharmacy.
Q: What are the continuing education requirements for initial certification?
- Complete a 20-hour board-approved continuing pharmacy education program with no fewer than 8-hours of live instruction. This program must be approved by the Florida Board of Pharmacy in consultation with the Board of Medicine and the Board of Osteopathic Medicine and meet the requirements outlined in the Florida Statues Rule 465.1895, which is specific to Testing or screening for and treatment of minor, nonchronic health conditions.
Q: How many hours of continuing education must be completed to maintain this license?
- Per Section 465.1865, Florida Statutes, a pharmacist providing services under this section must complete a 3-hour continuing education course approved by the board addressing issues related to minor, nonchronic health conditions each biennial licensure renewal in addition to the continuing education requirements under s. 465.009.
- Each pharmacist must submit confirmation of having completed the course when applying for licensure renewal. A pharmacist who fails to comply with this subsection may not provide testing, screening, or treatment services.
Q: Will I be able to test and screen outside of the State of Florida?
This program is specific to Florida. You will need to consult other state boards of pharmacies to learn more about their requirements.
Q: What items must be included to Test and Treat between a supervising physician and a pharmacist?
Please visit the Florida Board of Pharmacy for the full written protocol information of exact items needed to be included to test and screen between a supervising physician and a pharmacist.
Within 5 business days of entering into a written protocol with a supervising physician, a pharmacist must submit a copy of the protocol to the board.
The rules relating to the Test and Treat certification can be found here.
Are pharmacists entered into a written protocol with a supervising physician required to report disease of public health significance to the Department of Health?
Yes, a pharmacist who enters into a written protocol and provides services under a test and treat certification must report a diagnosis or suspected existence of a disease of public health significance to the Department of Health pursuant to Section 381.0031, Florida Statutes. To review the reporting requirements, please visit the Diseases and Conditions section of the Florida Health website.
Registration: What You Need to Know
Q: What does my registration include?
Your registration includes the following:
- Access to 12 hours of self-paced, on-demand content
- A reserved spot for the 8-hour live program offered via Zoom
- A virtual certificate of completion to be used as proof of completion when you apply to the board
Q: Are there any pre-requisites to register for the program?
You must be a licensed pharmacist in the State of Florida with a license that is in active and good standing.
Please visit the Florida Board of Pharmacy- Pharmacist Test and Treat Certification for more information.
Q: What are the program requirements to successfully complete the certificate program?
The learner must complete all three parts listed below to pass the course with at least a 70% successfully and submit the required coursework to be eligible for a certificate of completion.
- Self-study, 12-hour program
- Live seminar, 8-hour program
- Completion of the skills assessment and post-seminar activities
See program details for more information.
Completing the 12-Hour Self-Study: What You Need to Know
Q. Do I have to complete the home study before the live seminar?
Yes, you must complete the self-study, 12-hour program before attending the live seminar.
Q: What is included in the 12-hour self-study portion of the program?
This part of the program includes 12-hours of ACPE continuing education for pharmacists. This fully online, self-paced educational program focuses on the following areas: a review of point-of-care testing, testing, treating, and managing nonchronic health conditions, and implementing and entering a test and treat protocol with a supervising physician.
For more information, visit the Test and Treat Certification Program Details.
Q. Will partial credit be provided?
No. Partial credit will not be provided. Credit will only be awarded once all of the program requirements are satisfied.
Q: Who do I contact if I am having issues with Canvas?
Contact the Office of Continuing Pharmacy Education.
Attending the Live Seminar: What You Need to Know
Q: What is included in the 8-hour live, online sessions of this program?
This part of the program includes 8-hours of ACPE continuing education for pharmacists. This live seminar will consist of practical hands-on training, and the learner will be expected to demonstrate techniques for the following diagnostic tests: throat swab, oral fluid collection, nasal swab, and finger stick testing.
Learners will be required to demonstrate skills necessary to test and treat each of the minor, nonchronic health conditions through interactive completion of live lectures, patient cases, and other active learning exercises. In addition, learners will gain experience identifying opportunities for expanding patient-centered services in the community pharmacy setting with point-of-care testing; describe and perform appropriate physical assessments; apply this information to patient cases.
For more information, visit the Test and Treat Certification Program Details.
Q: What are the requirements of the live sessions?
- We require that all participants leave their web camera on to be able to demonstrate active participation in the program.
- We “must see your eyes” – no “phone number, initials, or picture.”
- Active participation is required and the learner must respond to all polling questions. These questions will be administrated randomly during the program.
- Participants who do not leave their web camera on for the entirety of the program and/or who do not participate in the polling questions risk not meeting the program requirements.
- If you need to step away please signal to the moderator privately (hand raise or a statement)
- If you are a nursing mother or someone that needs privacy while at their computer, please notify the moderator (privately) and just turn off video and listen, with the understanding that once you are done, you must turn the video back on
Q: What does it mean to see your eyes?
If this were a live program we would be in a room where the participants and instructors would be interacting and the likelihood of someone being disrespectful enough to overtly not pay attention would be low. In a zoom meeting it is more tempting to take liberties.
This is why UF COP CPE requires that your camera be on at all times and we can see your face. This is so that we can be assured you are paying attention to the content that we will be certifying you have received.
Signs of not paying attention will be grounds for removal from the program for cause. Signs of not paying attention include but are not limited to the following:
- Shopping (including online shopping or driving to the store and walking around in it on camera)
- Driving (this is not safe since you must be able to see the slides)
- Actively engaged in other phone conversations for a significant portion of the program
- Engaged with their phone more than the content
- Not keeping your camera on and on your face
- Having your camera off
Q: What are the consequences if we cannot see your eyes or if I am caught engaging in one of the above activities?
We monitor the zoom session for actions that would indicate an overt act of inattention in the participants. If we become aware of one, we will ask you to adjust the behavior. If no adjustment is made, we will remove you from the program. We cannot sign off that CE credit was given to someone who has not participated in the program.
Q: What happens if I am removed from the program?
You will receive warnings prior to being removed from the program. If you do not comply, you will be removed and will not be eligible to re-enter. You will not be awarded a refund, and it will be your responsibility to communicate which program date you would like to reschedule.
Q: What platform will the live sessions be held?
The live sessions are currently being offered via Zoom. You will receive the login information the week of the first live session.
Please be sure to download and test Zoom prior to the live seminar. Technical support will not be provided.
- Click here to download and test Zoom.
Q: How do I change my name in Zoom?
To change your name after entering a Zoom meeting, click on the “Participants” button at the top of the Zoom window. Next, hover your mouse over your name in the “Participants” list on the right side of the Zoom window. Next, click on “Rename.” Enter the name you’d like to appear in the Zoom meeting and click on “OK.”
Q: Will the live sections be recorded and made available at a later date?
No. You are required to attend the program in real-time.
Completing the Assessments: What You Need to Know
Q: How do I complete the Specimen Collection Assessments portion of the program?
This portion of the training will be completed remotely and under the supervision of a healthcare professional who administers these procedures within his/her normal scope of practice. This healthcare professional can be someone from within your organization, a colleague or a friend. Due to the newness of this certification in the State of Florida it is likely this person will not be a pharmacist. Any trained medical professional who provides these services can oversee the technique assessment. Please contact us if you want to verify if the accessor is eligible to review.
The assessment must be completed on a live person and this person will need to sign-off that he/she was a willing participant. This person must be at least 18 years and must give consent by signing the assessment checklist. The person (aka the “patient”) allowing for a specimen to be collected does not need to be a pharmacist – only a willing participant. The health care professional reviewing your technique cannot be the “patient.” You must be located in the same room as the assessor and the “patient.” The review of the specimen collection cannot occur via a video streaming or recorded platform. It must be live and in-person. Since there are three separate specimen collection tests you can choose to have three different “patients” and assessors.
Q: Does the Specimen Collection Demonstration assessments occur on the same day, or can we complete that later?
The assessments WILL NOT take place during the live seminar if the program is online via Zoom. Instead, it will be completed based on the availability of yourself, your assessor, and the patient recipient following the program. If the program is in-person, this WILL take place the same day.
Please verify before enrolling in this course where the live seminar portion will take place; if you are unsure, please contact us.
Q: Can I complete the assessments prior to the live seminar?
No. This must be completed after you attend the 8-hour live seminar in full. Instructions to appropriately conduct physical assessments will be provided at the conclusion of the live seminar.
Q: Who can access the physical assessments?
Any trained medical professional who provides these services can oversee the technique assessment. Eligible healthcare providers accessors include: MD, DO, PA, ARNP, RN. Please contact us to verify if your accessor is eligible.
Q: Does the assessor need to be in the same room or can this be reviewed via Zoom?
Yes! The assessor must be in the same room with you and the patient recipient and cannot view the demonstration via Zoom or any other online platform.
Q: Can the patient and the assessor be the same person?
No. The assessor cannot accurately review your technique if he/she is also being tested, screened, or treated.
Q: Can a relative be the person to receive physical assessment or be the assessor to sign the assessments form?
Yes, a relative can be the patient or the assessor; however, the same person cannot be the patient and the assessor. The patient must be 18 years or older. You must have two different people to perform these tasks.
Q: Do I need to record the demonstration of the specimen collection and send it to UF COP CPE?
No. The assessor will review your technique and sign off if your technique is acceptable and you are ready to test, screen, and treat patients.
Q: What are acceptable signatures for the assessment forms to receive assessment completion?
Accessor signature and any other signature on the skills assessment forms can be digital, but the must digitally signed AND time stamped, or manually signed, dated, scanned, and uploaded.
Q: What supplies do I need to complete the skills assessment?
A key component to successfully passing the course is the collection of specimens via the Nasopharyngeal swab, Oropharyngeal swab, and the Finger Stick. To be able to complete this step you will need the proper supplies, see list below.
If you do not have the supplies readily available, we are more than happy to send them to your place of residence. Please contact us and provide the requested information. We will place your supply kit in the mail the week of the live seminar.
|Sterile Throat Swab||2|
|Sterile Nasopharyngeal Swabs||2|
Q. I listed the wrong address on my supply kit request, can I request a second supply kit?
UF COP CPE will only send one supply kit per participant. Please verify that all your information is accurate and correct prior to filling any information on form. If your supply kit is returned to sender or you need an additional supply kit, we will ship a second kit for a $25.00 fee.
Q: What do I do after completing the skills assessment techniques?
You will have 30 days to complete the skills technique assessment. This 30-day window begins the day of your live seminar. You will need to upload completed forms and complete the final assessment in Canvas. These assignments should not be completed before you attend the live seminar.
Q: How do I upload completed form into Canvas?
- From the Test and Treat Home Page, click “Modules” from the menu on the left side of your screen.
- Once there, scroll down to the “Additional Course Assessments” section.
- You will find the “Skills Assessment” assignment.
- Please submit your completed checklist (in PDF format) by clicking the “Start Assignment” button.
After Completing the Home Study and Live Session: What You Need to Know
Q: I have completed the 20-hour required continuing pharmacy education Test and Treat certification. Now what?
Q: Can I purchase a printed certificate?
Yes. We are happy to mail you a printed certificate of completion for an additional $25.00. Contact us for more information.
Q: Which license will the 20 hours of continuing pharmacy education credit be applied toward?
Upon successful completion of the program credit will be applied toward your Florida License (PS) and your NABP e-profile ID.
Q: Who should I contact at the University of Florida for additional questions?
You can email firstname.lastname@example.org.